Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Soren Kierkegaard: Frygt og baeven [Fear and Trembling]
Contributor(s): McDonald, William (author)
Publication Date: 2005
Handle Link:
Abstract: 'Fear and Trembling' ['Frygt og Bæven'] was published on 16 October 1843 - the same day as Kierkegaard published 'Repetition' and 'Three Edifying Discourses'. It is published under the pseudonym Johannes de Silentio (John of Silence) and has the subtitle "Dialectical Lyric". The text bears the following epigraph from J. G. Hamann: "What Tarquinius Superbus said in the garden by means of the poppies, the son understood but the messenger did not" ... The book is divided into sections: a preface; an exordium; a eulogy on Abraham; three problemata, which are preceded by a "preliminary expectoration"; and an epilogue.
Publication Type: Entry In Reference Work
Source of Publication: The Literary Encyclopedia
Publisher: The Literary Dictionary Company Limited
Place of Publication: Online
ISSN: 1747-678X
Field of Research (FOR): 220210 History of Philosophy
HERDC Category Description: B2 Chapter in a Book - Other
Other Links:
Statistics to Oct 2018: Visitors: 109
Views: 113
Downloads: 0
Appears in Collections:Entry In Reference Work

Files in This Item:
3 files
File Description SizeFormat 
Show full item record

Page view(s)

checked on Mar 3, 2019
Google Media

Google ScholarTM




Items in Research UNE are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.